I’m Not Afraid of a Colonoscopy (Nor Should You Be)

I couldn’t help using the “Finish This Tweet” meme to my own advantage. What I spent the better part of two days not being afraid of — as best I could — was a colonoscopy. Before you ask, it was routine; the occasion was my 50th birthday, put off until after my 51st but not before my health care coverage ended from my cubicle job I quit two weeks ago.

I owed you an explanation today. I’d like to expand the idea of this post to dealing with fear of the unknown, especially of your insides when you get to a certain age, and why it’s worth fighting through. I’d also love to revisit the whole idea of this fun Twitter game, which was wildly successful for me this time, and benefited only a little from an implied imprimatur from Laura Fitton (see previous post).

The fact is, I’m still a little out of it from the anaesthesia. (Not so much that I couldn’t spell anaesthesia!)

Nighty-night.

A photo after the break…

Highlights from my insides. I tinted them blue to keep from grossing you out.

Highlights from my insides. I tinted them blue to keep from grossing you out.

2 responses to “I’m Not Afraid of a Colonoscopy (Nor Should You Be)

  1. Still grossed me out…at lunchtime!! Glad you had your colonoscopy…I think though that most of the time, we are likely afraid of fear. Didn’t FDR say “the only thing we have to fear is fear itself” and he was so correct.

  2. I can honestly say that I never thought I would be looking at colonscopy pictures on a blog post…..

    Thanks for sharing, I think?!?

    John

Leave a Reply

